Best Comedy Film I ever saw

As I stated in my first blog post, comedy is personally my favorite genre of film. I love movies that give me a good laugh. One film I absolutely want to point out as I’ve stated before is Paul Blart Mall Cop. This 2009 film was easily the funniest movie I ever saw in my life. The film stares Kevin James as both the director and Paul Blart. Blart wants to be a state cop. However in his exam for becoming one due a hypoglycemic medical condition (which is also known as low blood sugar), he collapses and fails the exam. To try to make up, he works as a mall cop. This scene was hilarious as he was about to become in high authority if he just passed this test and then boom, he collapsed and failed the test. Dark humor, really dark.

Another funny scene I want to point out is actually at the end of the movie. This scene took place when Blart was near a horse. Everyone knows the number one rule about horses though: Don’t stand behind them. And Blart being someone who appears to have a lower intelligence level, gets behind one and his kicked right in the stomach and right into another car. This fail was funny as watching people fail at something is always funny to watch.

Blart gets kicked by a horse scene
https://gfycat.com/gifs/search/paul+blart+mall+cop

However, although I might love this movie, I’ve read some film reviews and many film critics say they love it for the comedy, but the movie is “flimsy and lacking any sustained momentum” as spoken on Rotten Tomatoes.

I really like to compare this film to Justin Bieber. Most people hate him, both he’s still very successful. Same way with Paul Blart Mall Cop. This movie didn’t really get many good critic reviews, however, it still was very successful. The movie’s budget was about $26 million and at the box office they earned around $183 million. That’s almost $160 million in profit. I don’t know about you but that’s a lot of money! Now this film does have a sequel being Paul Blart Mall Cop 2 which was released in 2015. It was absolutely hilarious and just as good as the original.

Paul Blart: Mall Cop. (2019, March 27). Retrieved from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Blart:_Mall_Cop

Paul Blart: Mall Cop (2009). (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/paul_blart_mall_cop

One thought on “Best Comedy Film I ever saw

  1. Zach – Based on our comedy lesson -would you describe this film more in the “slapstick” or “Dark Comedy” route. I encourage you to examine the lesson for a clear understanding. How was editing, camera work and score/sound design used in this film to enhance the comedy? NTMII

    Like

Leave a comment